Marianne Vos wins stage two of the OVO Energy Women

London Olympic champion Marianne Vos won stage two of the OVO Energy Women’s Tour at the Cyclopark.

Vos, the first ever winner of the Tour in 2014, showed her class with a perfectly judged finish, crossing the line in a provisional time of 1hr 34min 17sec.

Ninety three riders from 16 teams took to the line and an enthusiastic crowd had early reason to cheer as Kent born rider Alice Barnes sister of Hannah made an an attack on the opening lap of 25.

Riders negotiate the Cyclopark in Gravesend during the OVO Energy Women Tour Picture: Ady KerryThe field were soon back together before the Barneses’ Canyon Sram team mate, Italian rider Elena Cecchini, built a 14 second lead.

Cecchini was reeled back in by the end of lap eight and on lap 10 the first Eisberg Sprint, earning bonus points and bonus seconds, was won by Vos, the 2012 Olympic champion.

## ## Riders quickly settled back down around the sun drenched 2.5km track, with little sign of any attacks.

The second Eisberg Sprint, after 15 laps, was won by Sheyla Gutierrez from the Movistar team, while Liane Lippert (Team Sunweb) took the final sprint.

Action from the OVO Energy Women Tour at the Cyclopark Picture: Ady KerryA sprint finish was looking increasingly likely as the laps whittled away, with nothing between the fancied riders.

Deignan’s Trek Segafredo team were driving the pace in the closing laps with the blue and white jerseys at the front of the field and making a big effort to ensure the 2015 world road race champion got over the line first.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create your website at
Get started
%d bloggers like this: